Colorado Gets High — er Minimum Hourly Wage
Did you get a raise in the New Year? Well, if you’re one of nearly 65,000 minimum wage laborers in Colorado you did just get a raise . . . to $8/hour. While the federal minimum wage remains at $7.25/hour, Colorado along with the following 13 states determined that their workers were worth the raise.
The Division of Labor has adopted Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 30 to reflect the new state minimum wage of $8.00 per hour effective January 1, 2014. The Colorado Constitution requires the Colorado minimum wage to be adjusted annually for inflation, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for the state.Here’s what the past few years have looked like for minimum wage workers in Colorado.
And for all you servers, bartenders and other workers whose wage depends on tips, you too have been bumped up, to $4.98/hour, on the scale effective Jan. 1, 2014. According to the Colorado Department of Labor and employment’s website, If an employee is covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, then the employer must pay the higher minimum wage for tipped employees. Federal tipped minimum wage is currently $2.13 per hour, which is lower than the Colorado tipped minimum wage of $4.98 per hour. Therefore, based upon current information, covered employers in Colorado will have to pay their tipped employees the higher value of $4.98 per hour under Colorado law beginning January 1, 2014.Cheers to higher wages in Colorado!
But that’s not all, and it’s important to note, that if you are a tip-based wage earner and your gratuities plus the hourly wage do not equal the minimum hourly wage, then your employer must make up the difference in cash wages.
Included in this report is the new poster provided by Leadville’s Colorado Workforce Center which outlines the new rules and guidelines.